Aystelum is a parallel world created by Ed Motta. In his new album, the singer, composer, musician and arranger sets off on a path opened by his album "Dwitza" (2001) and brings new elements to a sound that is constantly evolving while also maintaining his trademark sophisticated harmony.

Ed Motta loves music and his new album reflects his taste in music that knows no boundaries. On Aystelum, as well as on Ed´s record player, jazz, samba, soul and Broadway musicals live in total harmony. As a matter of fact, the combination of these apparently random fragments is simply the composer´s own definition of a composer´s work.

The cover was created by Edna Lopes and Ed Motta, inspired by the Franco-Belgian comics of the Ligne Claire school, and it offers a few clues to how to solve the mystery of Aystelum. The wordless story summons a fantastic universe and proves how listening to the album can actually take you to places unknown.

On this album, the idea was to aim at natural interpretation so the musicians played live in the studio, everyone at the same time. Few details were added later - a job master Ed exceeds in and which can be seen in the documentary of the recording of "Poptical" (2003), included in the DVD released in 2004.

The search for freedom of expression is what moves Ed Motta. To take on risks is a fundamental condition to reach this goal. In the world of Aystelum, the composer has total control and uses it to realize a dream that would perhaps be limited in the real world.

Ed says his dreams inspired him to invent the original words that make up the title of the album and several of its themes.

Alberto Continentino (bass), Paulinho Guitarra, Rafael Vernet (keyboards) and Renato "Massa" Calmon (drums) are well known names on Ed´s albums and shows. Aystelum also boasts special appearances by, among others, Andrés Perez (tenor saxophone) and his regular collaborator, Jessé Sadoc Filho (trumpet). The importance given by Ed Motta to the musicians´ work is rare among today´s popular artists. Maybe that´s why only Ed can bring together such a select group of musicians.

The album opens with the spiritual jazz Awunism that dates back to the Dwitza tour. Although it had to wait for the right moment to be recorded, it has not lost its sense of urgency. Chilean Andrés Perez premieres on an album in Brazil in a breathtaking solo with a post-bop vocabulary. Laudir de Oliveira, former member of the band Chicago, takes part for the first time in an album by Ed. In mixing, an effect that has been used very seldom lately - the bass and drums are separate, respectively on the left and right side - so check your stereo equipment!

The second track is a samba written together with Nei Lopes that sums up in a masterly fashion the nostalgic ambiance of a bygone Rio, when the word Pharmacy used to be spelt with a Ph in art deco style, unlike the modern farmácia. Despite the historic reference, through the use of analogical keyboards and unusual harmony, this samba points towards the future.

Aystelum is the perfect soundtrack for the location portrayed on the cover of the album. The theme that gives the album its name is remarkable because the course of its spatial arrangement is changed several times. In the beginning, Renato "Massa" Calmon plays the drums as a melodic instrument. That´s followed by an ultra-precise trumpet piece by Jessé Sadoc Filho. Then the theme is played once again, this time with a different arrangement, underlining one of the most beautiful melodies Ed has ever written. At the end, the Rhodes and Celesta pianos, whose tones match to perfection, carry out an uncommon dialog.

The fast-paced and ironically named samba-jazz É Muita Gig Véi once again uses instruments that are seldom found in this style, such as RMI and Multivox pianos, the Hohner Clavinet and the Elka Rhapsody. Also worth noting is Ed´s voice solo.

Samba Azul boasts the impeccable performance of one of the greatest Brazilian voices. Alcione is one of Ed Motta´s favorite singers and this duet was recorded in one take, with no overdubs. A dark, somber Rio de Janeiro, different from how it is usually portrayed, is recreated in the beautiful lyrics by Nei Lopes. A note of interest: the recording session was enhanced by a gastronomic banquet with typical cuisine from Maranhão, courtesy of Alcione.

On the sixth track, Balendoah, a 14-musician strong band plays modern and furious jazz. The use of two drums - Tutty Moreno (direct channel) and Renato "Massa" Calmon (left channel) - and of two basses - Alberto Continentino and Paulo Russo - gives the music a feeling of rhythmic freedom. The RMI piano, the first electronic piano ever invented, is ideal ground for Rafael Vernet´s inventive solo.

As a follow-up, Ed Motta carries out his longtime dream of composing for a musical. Based on original ideas by Ed, arranger Jota Moraes evokes soundtracks of animated films that Ed used to listen to as a child and the Broadway musicals he learned to love when he grew up. The three songs from the musical, Abertura, Na Rua and Canção em Torno Dele are also sung by the cast of the show.

The musical "7", written and directed by Charles Moeller, with lyrics by Cláudio Botelho and music by Ed Motta, will be staged later this year.

The end of the album contains tracks that are closer to Ed´s previous work. A Charada is a nocturnal pop carried to perfection by Ronaldo Bastos and Ed Motta´s lyrics. Paulinho Guitarra´s solo proves why he is one of Ed´s favorite guitar players.

The sunny Patidid is a funk-samba with a carioca accent, closing the album with a taste of the Black Rio movement. Similarly to the rest of the album, on this track, Alberto Continentino plays acoustic bass, a rare event in the world of funk.

The decision to include Guezagui was a last minute one. It´s a theme played in European shows of the Poptical tour and it contains several studio experiments such as the use of 2 drums and 6 Celesta pianos.

Aystelum is Ed Motta´s most personal album to date, the one that represents the composer at his best. In other words, the album that he would like to listen to at home.

The experimenting with different styles is surprising and makes you want to listen to it over and over again. On Aystelum there´s no room for musical prejudice, nor are there any set rules. Only Ed Motta´s devotion to music and his belief that an artist´s only duty is to the freedom of creation.

João Duprat
01. Awunism
Música - Ed Motta

02. Pharmácias
Música ­ Ed Motta letra ­ Nei Lopes

03. Aystelum
Música ­ Ed Motta

04. É Muita Gig Véi !!!
Música ­ Ed Motta

05. Samba Azul
Música ­ Ed Motta letra ­ Nei Lopes

06. Balendoah
Música ­ Ed Motta

"7" O Musical medley músicas - Ed Motta letras ­ Claudio Botelho medley do musical com texto de Charles Moeller, letras de Claudio Botelho e músicas de Ed Motta

07. Abertura

08. Na Rua

09. Canção Em Torno Dele

10. A Charada
Música Ed Motta- letra- Ronaldo Bastos e Ed Motta

11. Patidid
Música ­ Ed Motta

12. Guezagui
Música - Ed Motta

Produzido por Ed Motta